česky   polski   english   deutsch
Oficiální stránky Magistrátu města Liberec
Městské informační centrum Liberec


"The most beautiful neo-renaissance building* 1888 - 1893 * the design of the Viennese architect, F. Neumann * currently the seat of the Municipal Authority * a richly decorated façade and rare stained glass windows * the tower is 65 metres tall * tours of the interior and the ceremonial hall*

The neo-Renaissance town hall was built between 1888 and 1893 by the prominent company Sachers and Gärtner according to the designs of Viennese architect Franz Neumann, and so it is no surprise to learn that the appearance of the building is reminiscent of the town hall in Vienna itself. Above the mighty entranceway is an intriguing stone relief that depicts the foundation of the old and new town halls, as well as a balustrade balcony from which many a famous person has spoken. Also of great interest is the 65-metre high main tower, which is topped with a sculpture of a knight. The richly decorated facades, magnificent stained-glass windows, and beautiful ceremonial hall are also worthy of note, all of them prime examples of absolute precision. Despite its age, the town hall remains one of the most valuable jewels in the architectural crown of the city at the foot of Ještěd Mountain.

Tour of the Town Hall - Text in format PDF - here

"The building of the century!" * the dominant feature of the City of Liberec (1012 m n. m.) * the mountain hotel * an aerial tramway * the building was awarded the prestigious Perret Award - architect doc. Ing. arch. Karel Hubáček, dr.h.c. * completed in 1973 * a renowned summer and winter sports centre * hiking * cycling * downhill skiing * snowboarding * ski jumping *

The dominant feature of Liberec is the 1012-metre high Ještěd Mountain, atop which is the remarkable silhouette of a television transmission tower and mountain hotel. This unusual structure also required unusual building procedures, some of which were tried out in practice for the very first time. The designer of the project was architect Karel Hubáček, who was presented with the highly prestigious Perret Award for his work. In fact the building itself has won a great many awards for its originality, for example it is a national cultural monument and the Building of the 20th Century, with efforts now being made to have it listed as a UNESCO monument. There is a wonderful view of the surrounding area from the top of the mountain, which can be reached on foot or by cable car. Meanwhile, the slopes of Ještěd Mountain offer ideal conditions for winter and summer sports and so it comes as no surprise that the place is a magnet for tourists all year round.

Ještěd = the building of the century - Text in format PDF - here

"The gateway to the world of animals!" * the oldest zoo in the Czech Republic * ca. 170 species of animals * a breeding program for endangered species * the largest collection of birds of prey in Europe * white tigers * a unique tropics pavilion * the big cats' pavilion * the chimpanzee pavilion * the orang-utan pavilion * the giraffe pavilion * the seal pavilion * the pachyderm pavilion and many others *established in 1919 *

Liberec Zoo dates back to 1919, making it the oldest of its kind in the Czech Republic. It currently specialises in breeding rare species of animals or those which are critically endangered in the wild. One such animal, the white tiger, is a true rarity and is a major attraction for visitors. Also well worthy of note are the rare Sumatran orang-utans, the lesser panda, the golden takins, or the largest collection of birds of prey in Europe. Among the other attractions at the zoo is the feeding of the seals, the "sprite trail" for children, a colourful little train, or the so-called "contact ZOO", where children can touch domesticated animals and see them close up. In short, Liberec ZOO offers its visitors entertainment, education, and the chance to enjoy a spot of relaxation in a pleasant environment.

Sightseeing Tour of the ZOO - Text in format PDF - here


"A paradise of the Goddess Flora!" * the most modern botanical gardens in Bohemia * 7500 tropical and subtropical plant species in glasshouses and 1500 outdoor species * the glasshouses have an area of 4500 m2 and the outdoor exhibitions have an area of 15,000 m2 * rare orchids * carnivorous plants * bonsai * wetland plants * aquariums and terrariums * established in 1876 *

The Botanic Gardens were opened to the public as far back as 1895, but recent extensive reconstruction work has created what are now the most modern gardens in Bohemia, with glasshouses that are truly a paradise of plants. The noble orchids are sure to take your breath away, as are the attractive flower gardens, the miniature world of the bonsai, or a unique display of carnivorous plants. The Primeval pavilion captures the prehistoric face of the planet, whilst the atmosphere of a chateau orangery is encapsulated in a remarkable collection of camellias. The incredible and silent underwater world is also captured in a collection of aquariums that are home to stingrays and sharks or more common angelfish and neon tetras. During summer, be sure not to miss the outdoor rose garden and the large rock garden that features the thermophilic flora of North Bohemia.

Sightseeing Tour of the Botanical Gardens - Text in format PDF - here

"The living magic of times gone by!" * activities commenced in 1873 * an unusual neo-renaissance building * natural history exhibitions * archaeological exhibitions * historical exhibitions displaying the settlements of North Bohemia from 1918 * a wide-spread collection of artistic crafts *

The activity of what was originally the Museum of Applied Arts began in 1873. The modern-day building was built in 1897 and 1898 in line with the designs of Bedřich Ohmann in the neo-Renaissance style. First impressions focus on the slim tower, which is an exact copy of the original Liberec town hall. The museum houses exhibits of the natural science, archaeology, and history of North Bohemia. Particular attention is paid to the development of the textile industry in the region and yet other permanent exhibits look at the development of artistic crafts from ancient times to the present. The collection of oriental carpets is the largest in the Czech Republic, whilst the unique tapestries are also remarkable. There is also a noteworthy collection of mechanical musical instruments that are mostly fully functional.

"The former residence of the manufacturer Liebig"* open to the public from. 1946 * Dutch painting of the 16th and 18th centuries * French landscapes of the 19th century * Czech painting of the 20th century * German and Austrian painting of the 19th century * updated exhibitions *

The site of today's art gallery was originally home to the house of Römheld, the manager of a cloth factory. This house was built in 1814, but was transformed in 1871 and 1872 by its later owner Johann Liebieg Junior in the vein of Italian Renaissance palaces with rich interior decoration. This reconstruction gave the building the appearance we know now as the Regional Gallery. The foundations of a collection were laid thanks to the activities of the Museum of North Bohemia and the legacy of Heinrich Liebieg (Johann's brother). The collection then became independent and developed further as the Regional Gallery as of 1953. The gallery is now able to boast extensive collections of Dutch painting from the 16th to 18th centuries, French landscape painting from the 19th century, 19th-century German painting, and an exhibition of Czech art from the turn of the 20th century to the present day.

"A unique city within the city" * a shopping, entertainment and gastronomic centre * including a hotel * a congress centre * a parking building * a casino * restaurants in various styles * a shopping town * a aqua park * a fun park * bowling * a discotheque * gaming rooms * Planet Internet * the laser game and others *

The Babylon centre is unique location for family leisure time and belongs amongst the most important tourist attractions in the town. It is a large covered complex covering the site of a old factory. This centre seems like " the town under one cover". The main tourist attraction of Babylon is Aquapark - the first in the Czech republic. It has a system of swimming pools, water slides and other attractions, saunas, massage, steam baths, whirlpools, caves, aquariums, palms and an outdoor terrace. There are also 3 restaurants in the Aquapark and therefore visitors can stay there the whole day. Among the other attractions of Babylon are Lunapark - many children ´s attractions (children´s corner, jungle gym). The laser games are a favourite. In complex Babylon visitors can visit the Shopping centre with more than 60 shops, where street lamps create the illusion of a town whitin the town. Parents can leave their children to play in the inflatable children´s castle in the care of special attendants and go shopping. Sport fans can use modern the bowling alley and young people can visit discos that take place every day. The Business centre offers services for companies and undertakes various special trainings, presentations of firms, seminars and also congresses. The hotel Babylon is at the disposal for visitors who would like to spend than one day more in the Babylon centre and use all its attractions. There are special appartments for businessmen and wedding-guests.

"The fairytale kingdom of Czech glass!" One of the first brick-walled buildings in the city - built by the House of Redern * 1582-1587 * the largest display of glass in the world * at present not open to the public *

The original, simple, Renaissance structure was built by brothers Christopher and Melichar of Redern between 1582 and 1587, making the chateau one of the first stone buildings in the city. However, it owes its modern-day appearance to a number of reconstructions that began following a fire in 1615. A chapel and the Nostic Wing were added to the chateau at that time at the behest of Catherine of Redern in line with the designs of Jan Arkan of Zittau. The 20th century saw the world-renowned Skloexport company establish a unique glass sample room in the chateau, the delicate beauty of which led to the chateau proudly being named the "Glass Chateau". Unfortunately, the chateau is not currently open to the public and so we only have the opportunity to admire its attractive exterior in the very heart of the city.

*Všechna práva vyhrazena*All rights reserved*Alle Rechte vorbehalten*Wszystkie prawa zastrzeźone*